What are you feeling?

This is spoken from my point of view but I’m sure others can relate.

What are you feeling? Are you happy? Are you sad? Maybe, you’re angry or annoyed. Maybe you’re hurt or possibly jealous. But, do you know? Like, do you REALLY know what you are feeling? A lot of times I tend to mistake one emotion for another. We all do. We are human.

Example: a friend might come to me and show me all the good pictures of her time out with friends last night. Shes happy, she had fun and she wants to share that moment with me. I might get a little “upset” with her because she didnt invite me. But am I really upset? If I take the time, sit back, and REALLY think about my emotions, I will find out that I am not really upset or angry. That’s just the emotion that I am comfortable expressing at that moment. In reality, I’m hurt and jealous. I’m hurt because I wasnt invited. That could also spiral into not feeling wanted by my friend. I’m jealous because I wish I could have been there and have just as much fun as her.

Another example: I send my significant other a text message and hours go by before I hear from them, yet they are on social media in between that time. Oh, now I’m pissed, right? Why couldn’t they respond to my message? Hold up, but am I really pissed… or am I jealous because something else was getting the attention I wanted at that moment? Am I feeling sad because it seems as if I’m being neglected or unwanted? Am I annoyed because I am feeling ignored? What am I really feeling?

Alot of times I tend to default to two emotions: happy or upset. But there are so many more emotions that fall between those two. Sometimes, I’m content. Sometimes I’m sad. Sometimes I’m amazed, annoyed, joyful, frustrated, anxious, disgusted, excited, scared, and the list goes on and on and on. But, it always tends to default to happy or upset…. with an occasional sadness or annoyed sprinkled here and there.

I have noticed when I take the time to think about what I’m feeling, I realize that what I “think” I’m feeling isnt necessarily what I’m actually feeling. Sometimes it takes talking to myself and working it out on my own. Honestly, taking the time to think about my emotions before I verbalize what I am feeling helps and creates less tension with the one I wish to express myself to.
Is it easy? Hell no. Does it always work? Nah, bruh. It’s hard as fuck and it doesnt always come out smoothly. What’s that saying? I wear my emotions on my sleeves. But am I wearing the right one? The hard part isn’t figuring out what I am truly feeling. The hard part is being able to communicate the “right” feelings and emotions at the “right” time. I may “feel” angry about something. Stop. Think. Am I really angry? Nope. I might be a little insecure right now though. Probably jealous and/or worried. But I’m not angry. Ooorrrrrr…. I’m super happy. Am I or am I relieved? I could be motivated or hopeful about something. Emotions doesnt have to stop at 2 or 3. There’s a whole list of emotions that I could be feeling.

So, the next time you are feeling an emotion, stop and think about it. Not just for a couple of seconds, but REALLY think about it. What am I feeling? Why am I feeling this? What do I need to work past this feeling? I think it can be quite helpful and useful when expressing your feelings to someone else.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close